AGENDA ITEM 3 A Information Item

MEMORANDUM

DATE: April 6, 2023

TO: El Dorado County Transit Authority

FROM: Christine Parker, Safety Coordinator

SUBJECT: 2022 Safe Driving Award Recipients

REQUESTED ACTION:

BY MOTION,

No action requested. Information only.

BACKGROUND

Safe driving awards are presented annually to El Dorado County Transit Authority (El Dorado Transit) Operators who meet a minimum work hour criterion for the program and who were not involved in on-the-job moving violations or chargeable accidents.

El Dorado Transit Operators are trained and licensed to operate all the agency's fleet vehicles including accessible mini-vans, medium duty cutaways, low floor transit buses, and over-the-road commuter coaches with air brakes. Transit Operators are consistently challenged with varying driving conditions ranging from the mountainous roads in the eastern part of El Dorado County to the congested freeways and downtown streets of the Sacramento urban corridor.

In the calendar year 2022, El Dorado Transit Operators provided a total of 136,097 passenger trips, traveled 744,660 miles in revenue service, and clocked 41,322 in-service driving hours.

DISCUSSION

In 2022, El Dorado Transit implemented an updated criteria for the safe driving awards to improve the attainability and overall value of the program. El Dorado Transit Operators must work for a minimum of twenty-six (26) pay periods in a given calendar year to qualify for a Safe Driving Award.

This year's awardees consistently demonstrated their commitment to providing safe and reliable transportation through all manner of operational challenges and proved their exceptional driving skills by avoiding any moving violations or chargeable accidents. Through their hard work and diligence, many Transit Operators earned a successive safety award in 2022, extending their record from two (2) up to as many as thirteen (13) consecutive years of exceptionally safe performance.

El Dorado Transit is pleased to present safe driving awards to the following twenty-five (25) Transit Operators who met the standards for the 2022 Safe Driving Award program:

1 Year of Safe Driving	Jayson Ravens Joshua Gamble Windy Corsello Monika Sharma Joel Mets Jerry Bowman Ramona Goodge Scott Ridewood Leslie Thomas
2 Years of Safe Driving	Timothy Gobble
3 Years of Safe Driving	Thomas Bluhm Ryan Robinson Robert Bennett
4 Years of Safe Driving	Joe Achterberg Julie Lirette
5 Years of Safe Driving	Ernesto Garcia
7 Years of Safe Driving	Stephen Powell Gabriel Schranz Jean Staples
8 Years of Safe Driving	Arthur Laarveld Ken Umphred
13 Years of Safe Driving	Bob Nobriga Bradford Goode

El Dorado Transit is proud of the caliber of all Transit Operators and thanks them for their exceptional service to the public.