AGENDA ITEM 3 A Information Item

MEMORANDUM

DATE: May 2, 2024

TO: El Dorado County Transit Authority

FROM: Christine Parker, Safety Coordinator

SUBJECT: 2023 Safe Driving Award Recipients

REQUESTED ACTION:

BY MOTION,

None. Information Only.

BACKGROUND

Safe driving awards are presented annually to El Dorado County Transit Authority (El Dorado Transit) Operators who meet a minimum work hour criterion for the program and who were not involved in on-the-job moving violations or chargeable accidents.

El Dorado Transit Operators are trained and licensed to operate all the agency's fleet vehicles including wheelchair accessible mini-vans, medium duty cutaways, low floor transit buses with air brakes, and over-the-road commuter coaches with air brakes. Transit Operators are consistently challenged with varying driving conditions ranging from mountainous roads to congested freeways and downtown streets of the Sacramento urban corridor.

In the calendar year 2023, El Dorado Transit Operators provided a total of 163,334 passenger trips, traveled 937,660 miles in revenue service, and clocked 45,966 in-service driving hours.

DISCUSSION

This year's awardees consistently demonstrated their commitment to providing safe and reliable transportation through all manner of operational challenges and proved their exceptional driving skills by avoiding any moving violations or chargeable accidents.

El Dorado Transit is pleased to present the following twenty (20) Transit Operators, who through their hard work and diligence earned a 2023 Safe Driving Award. Of special note, in 2023 El Dorado Transit recognized operators for their total years of safe driving in addition to those operators who met consecutive milestone years of safe driving. Those individuals whose names are in bold are those who have had consecutive years with no moving violations or chargeable accidents.

1 Year of Safe Driving Robert Bonsack

Jennifer Quinn Tony Romo J. Luis Rubalcaba Michael Stettner

Larry Young

<u>2 Years of Safe Driving</u> Leslie Thomas

3 Years of Safe Driving Joshua Gamble

<u>4 Years of Safe Driving</u> Timothy Gobble

<u>5 Years of Safe Driving</u> Thomas Bluhm

Julie Lirette Ryan Robinson

6 Years of Safe Driving Jerry Bowman

8 Years of Safe Driving Gabriel Schranz

9 Years of Safe Driving Arthur Laarveld

Stephen Powell Dave Scheuffele

12 Years of Safe Driving Jean Staples

15 Years of Safe Driving Robert Nobriga

Bradford Goode

El Dorado Transit is proud of the caliber of all Transit Operators and thanks them for their exceptional service to the public.