System Alert: Temporary Suspension of Saturday Services

El Dorado Transit Recognizes Drivers with Annual Safety Awards

For Immediate Release

Diamond Springs, CA, June 14, 2022–The El Dorado County Transit Authority (El Dorado Transit) is pleased to acknowledge seventeen (17) of its eligible Transit drivers for earning a Safe Driving Award for 2021. Safety awards are presented annually to El Dorado Transit drivers that have not been involved in any on-the-job moving violations or chargeable accidents, having worked a minimum of 1800 hours during the calendar year. Among the honorees for 2021 were drivers receiving awards ranging from one (1) year, up to twelve (12) consecutive years of safe driving. These included veteran drivers John Hill (2 years of safe driving), Julie Lirette (3 years of safe driving), and Arthur Laarveld (7 years of safe driving).

El Dorado Transit drivers are trained and licensed to operate a wide variety of transit vehicles including wheelchair accessible mini-vans, 16-37 passenger buses, on up to 45’commuter coaches that carry up to 57 passengers. They skillfully navigate a wide array of driving conditions from downtown Sacramento to the mountains in eastern El Dorado County, year-around and in all kinds of weather. In 2021, El Dorado Transit drivers provided 112,600 passenger trips, traveled 687,467 miles, and clocked 41,303 hours in passenger service.

El Dorado Transit drivers continued to demonstrate exceptional driving skill in 2021 and consistently provided safe service to the riding public. The El Dorado Transit Board of Directors and management is proud to highlight the outstanding caliber of all our drivers and thanks them for their exceptional service to the public.

For more information on routes, schedules, and fares, please call El Dorado Transit at (530) 642-5383. # # #